Feb 24 - Lang Walker takes the double back to back

After three very different days of sailing both on Sydney Harbour and off Sydney heads, Lang Walker and his team on Kokomo have defended their double crown - the 2008 Hamilton Island Farr 40 Australian Championship and the 2007 -08 Australian Farr 40 Circuit.

Team Kokomo – Front row Stuart Pollard, Jane Clark, Lang Walker, Sue Walker, Richard Allanson, John Flannery, Back row Mark Walsh, Colin Beashel, Bruce Clark, Dave Scott, Matt Souter photo Sam Crichton

“Racing in this regatta has been on of the toughest in the Australian class so far.  We have had to sail fairly consistently to finish on top with the racing in the harbour on the first day being fluky but great to sail on the flat water.  Saturday was three very tough races with the whole fleet very close.  The newcomers to the fleet did a great job and it bodes well for the class and the upcoming 2011 Farr 40 World Championship which is returning to Sydney”, commented a delighted Walker.

For the last day the 10 boat fleet again headed outside Sydney heads to the Macquarie circle to line up for the last three races in the series.  After Saturday’s tough conditions offshore the fleet raced in a shifty breeze that swung from the south west to the east all in the last leg of race seven.


Surf’s up – Farr 40 Sputnik photo Sam Crichton

The large swell that had provided many surfing opportunities yesterday had reduced dramatically and the lighter fluctuating breeze tested the mettle of every tactician's strategy.

Ivan Wheen’s Sputnik and Guido Belgiorno Nettis’s Transfusion, who overnight were placed second and third respectively, switched places overall after Transfusion finished the last day with two first places and a fourth.

“It’s fantastic to see the local fleet so strong and we are already looking forward to next season starting with the annual Port Stephens regatta”, said Wheen.

Belgiorno Nettis, who is sailing his first season in the Farr 40 class, came second in the 2007-08 Australian Farr 40 circuit on a countback from Lisa and Martin Hill.

“Our team has come a long way this season and learnt a lot about sailing the Farr 40.  The level of competition has been fantastic and we will be back for more”, remarked Belgiorno Nettis who took home two second places this weekend in both the Championship and the circuit.

The 2008-09 Australian Farr 40 season will kick off in October with it hoped for a Farr 40 class division to also be racing at the Audi Hamilton Island Race week in August.

The Farr 40 class would like to thank the event sponsor Hamilton Island and to the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron who hosted the event.

Event Photos

Final Results 2008 Hamilton Island Farr 40 Australian Championship:

Pl. Yacht Owner/Skipper Club Points
1 Kokomo Lang Walker CYCA 23
2 Transfusion Guido Belgiorno Nettis MHYC 26
3 Sputnik Ivan Wheen RSYS 34
4 Hooligan Marcus Blackmore RPAYC 43
5 White Cloud Brett Neill RNZYS 45
5 Estate Master Lisa and Martin Hill MHYC 45
7 Wot Now Graeme Wood CYCA 67
7 Orion Michael Blumentals CYCA 67
9 Night Nurse Russell McCart RQYS 73
10 Revolution Edake Jeff Carter MHYC 76

2007-08 Australian Farr 40 Circuit (top five)
1    Lang Walker                   14
2    Guido Belgiorno Nettis    21
3    Lisa and Martin Hill         21
4    Marcus Blackmore          21
5    Brett Neill                       32

For more information please go to www.farr40.org or  contact Sam Crichton ph # +61 0407 63 64 16 or email \n // -->This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.