2015 Events

  • 2015circuit1

  • RolexNA

  • 1
  • Groovin' On A Sunday Afternoon
  • Groovederci Wins!
  • Worlds Race Day Three

sept28 1sWith a nod to the Young Rascals, John Demourkas was certainly ‘Groovin' on a Sunday afternoon’ as he won the 2015 Rolex Farr 40 World Championship by one point over defending champion Alex Roepers on Plenty. Demourkas, the second-longest member of the class with 11 years of helming the one-design Farr 40 under his belt, has never before finished on the podium at the world championship.

Finishes of 7-4-3 put him fourth overall in the 17-boat international fleet on the opening day of the series; Demourkas then won the first race on day two, and, with finishes of 5-3, moved up to second overall.  Scores of 5-6-4 on the third day of racing kept Demourkas in position, but he was tied on 38 points with Roepers who held the top spot in the overall standings to start the final day of the series. Struntje light won the first race of the day, moving Wolfgang Schaefer's team to within striking distance of the title and setting up an intriguing three-way battle.

Read More

John Demourkas and his Groovederci team have won the 2015 Rolex Farr 40 World Championship. Full report to follow.

Final top ten:
1. Groovederci , John Demourkas, USA, 49.0
2. Plenty, Alex Roepers, USA, 50.0
3. Struntje light, Wolfgang Schaefer, GER, 52.0
4. Nightshift , Kevin McNeil, USA, 57.0
5. Flash Gordon 6, Helmut Jahn, USA, 64.0
6. Estate Master, Martin Hill, AUS, 65.0
7. Enfant Terrible , Alberto Rossi, ITA, 66.0
8. Coquille (Corinthian), Gary Ezor, USA, 82.0
9. Asterisk Uno, Hasip Gencer, TUR, 84.0
10. Insanity (Corinthian), Rick Goebel, USA, 113.0
Full results

Read More

sept26 1sOn a day of sparkling sunshine, it couldn't have been much brighter for Alberto Rossi and the crew of Enfant Terrible in the Rolex Farr 40 World Championship. The Italian team posted two wins and a second place in the day's three races. Only some poor results in earlier races, thanks in part to problems with the kelp, will stop Rossi from winning this championship.

The lead, after nine races, is shared by Alex Roepers with Plenty, and John Demourkas' Groovederci. They are five points clear of Wolfgang Schaefer's Struntje Light, who in turn is three points ahead of Kevin McNeil's Nightshift. The top five have displayed consistency, whereas all the others have had results they would like to forget, but this, as always, is a no-discard series.

Read More